UN Secretary-General reappoints Judge Carmel Agius as Mechanism President and renews terms of Mechanism Judges

Arusha, The Hague
President Carmel Agius
President Carmel Agius

United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres has appointed Judge Carmel Agius to a second term of office as President of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (Mechanism), with effect from 1 July 2020 until 30 June 2022.

President Agius has served as Mechanism President since 19 January 2019, having been a Judge of the Mechanism since it commenced operating in 2012. He was also a Judge of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) for sixteen years from 2001, serving as its Vice-President from November 2011 to November 2015, as well as its final President from November 2015 until December 2017. In addition, he served as a Judge of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) from 2009 until its closure in 2015.

The Secretary-General has also reappointed the other 24 Judges on the judicial roster of the Mechanism for a term of two years, from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2022.