Secretary-General appoints Judge Margaret Anne McAuliffe deGuzman of United States of America to serve as Mechanism Judge

Arusha, The Hague
Judge Margaret Anne deGuzman
Judge Margaret Anne deGuzman

The Secretary-General of the United Nations, Mr. António Guterres, has appointed Judge Margaret Anne McAuliffe deGuzman of the United States of America to the roster of Judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals (Mechanism), effective 22 December 2021.

Judge deGuzman brings to the Mechanism academic and professional experience spanning more than two decades. Since 2009, she has worked at Temple University Beasley School of Law, Philadelphia, where she currently serves as the James E. Beasley Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Institute for International Law and Public Policy. In addition, she has since 2016 consulted on projects related to international criminal law, human rights and transitional justice at the Public International Law & Policy Group in Washington, D.C., where she is a Senior Legal Advisor. Previously, Judge deGuzman held various legal positions at both the national and international levels.

Judge deGuzman has published extensively in the field of international criminal law and is an active member of many professional boards and organizations. Currently, she is the Co-chair of the Women in International Law Interest Group of the American Society of International Law. In addition, she has been an Editorial Board Member of the African Journal of International Criminal Justice since 2014, and of the Forum for International Criminal and Humanitarian Law since 2011.

Judge deGuzman was appointed to the Mechanism’s roster of Judges following the resignation of Judge Theodor Meron on 17 November 2021 and will serve the remainder of Judge Meron’s term of office, which expires on 30 June 2022.

In accordance with its Statute, the Mechanism has a roster of 25 independent Judges who serve both the Arusha and The Hague branches of the Mechanism.